2NE1 makes their comeback, the world order of “badass” is restored

After an ever-so-refreshing night of sleep, I woke up this morning at 6AM like I always do. I turned on my computer and was welcomed by the YG ladies in the wallpaper. Then it hit me. “HOLY FUCK THE 2NE1 COMEBACK STAGE SHOULD BE UPLOADED BY NOW!” I hopped right on over to YouTube to witness this spectacle.

1. Clap Your Hands

This was one of the songs on the album that I knew would sound better live, and I was absolutely right. All the girls looks fabulous. CL’s blond hair definitely suits her, and anything but the palm tree looks great on Dara. Speaking of Dara, she performed surprisingly well, and you can tell that she’s put in a lot of time and effort into making their debut as clean as possible. Like they say, “You’re only as strong as your weakest link.”

The whole deal with the bench actually worked really well for me. Although I was praying the entire time that the bench wouldn’t collapse while they were on it, I soon forgot about my worries when the chorus hit, and I was clapping my hands along with the pumped audience. What a great way to start the day!

2. Go Away

You know, once I got past the fact that 2NE1 has started using autotune, I started to really embrace the three title tracks and look deeper than what the songs seemed on the surface. “Go Away” has probably become my favorite track on the album… Yeah, it beats the two “ballads” at this point. Crazy, right? ME? Anyway, enough about me and onto the performance!

I feel like someone got lazy and decided not to put a lot of effort into this choreography. Luckily for them, it actually turned out really well. I liked the whole concept of the club scene on the stage, and I think it gave the girls more time to focus on connecting with the audience, which, by the way, was freaking the hell out. Those are some of the loudest chants I’ve heard in a long time.

3. Can’t Nobody

Okay, so I thought this song was going to sound better live, but, in this case, I was wrong. The outfits and the dancing were spot on, but the vocals were very scattered, with an intermixing of back track and actual voice throughout. I didn’t really like it that much. That combined with the fact that CL was horrible at lip-syncing that intro at the beginning really turned me off to this performance. I understood why she didn’t actually sing (talk?) that part, but the attempt at lip-syncing it was just unnecessary to me. Just dance in the beginning! Meh. Not much more to say about this one.

I was kind of sad that they didn’t win, but, hey, it is their comeback stage. Next time… Next time…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

