Blackjacks are cocky and arrogant. Stop crying and get over it.

You know what I like about having my own blog in the United States? I essentially say anything I want. As long as I’m not threatening to kill the President (which I would never do, because Obama is the man), I’m pretty much free to express my opinions in any way I see fit.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get on to the telling people to stop crying and whining about the Blackjacks…

Okay, I’ll admit it… We 2NE1 Blackjacks are a pretty rowdy bunch. We think that 2NE1 is the shit (because they are). We appreciate the freedoms and liberties that YG Entertainment has taken with the group and the fact that they are pioneering the way into a new age for the youth across the globe, especially for women. For years, girl groups have had songs that always expressed either 1) falling head-over-heels for a guy or 2) severe depression over a breakup.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some pretty freaking good songs with those themes, but somehow I feel like songs like those are sometimes conveying messages to young girls that we don’t always want. I’m a guy, and I speak for myself when I say that I’m really not into the type of vain and superficially driven girls that are usually portrayed in videos such as “Gee” and “Oh!” The thought of it is just childish, and I would much rather prefer a girl that is mature enough and confident enough in herself to tell me if I’m totally off my rocker.

So that brings me back to the 2NE1 fandom. Clearly, there’s a stark difference in opinion when it comes to the 2NE1 Blackjacks and say the SNSD SONEs. Although I have nothing to base this on other than my own intuition, I feel like fans of 2NE1 tend to be older and more outspoken versus fans of other groups, who I tend to see as younger and a little bit more naive. When you’re a 13 year-old girl, you’re still finding yourself. I find that most girls that age tend to gravitate over to being more “girly” than not for fear of being labeled a “tom boy” and not fitting in with other girls.

If you understand politics, then you’ll probably get my next analogy:

Blackjacks are like Democrats. There are a lot of us, and we all have opinions that range over a large scale. People see us as “extreme,” “arrogant,” and “cocky,” because we place strong emphasis on new and modern ideas (progressiveness????) that  some people don’t always agree with 100%. We like change, and we like BIG change.

SONEs are like Republicans. They are a pretty big group of fans also, but they are different in that their fans share almost the exact same opinions with little variation. They stick to ideas and concepts that have been tried and true, hence “girly” girl groups. They really don’t like a lot of change, and radical change is sometimes very frightening to these people.

Studies have also shown that as people age, they tend to become more liberal, also relating to my previous statement that Blackjacks tend to be older.

Some of this sounds like random rambling (in fact, most of it does), but perhaps you got a little something out of this. If you lost me at the politics part, then you’re probably too young to understand and probably prefer SNSD over 2NE1 (hehehe… I kid…) Anyways… Agree? Disagree? I really could care less. Just please no pointless comments. This is a fan-wars safe zone!


  1. I think there’s some truth to what you’ve written here. Partially why 2NE1’s fans are so cocky is because BOTH their image and sound are distinct from other girl groups in Korean pop music. It almost alienates Blackjacks from everyone else because there’s really nothing like 2NE1 in Kpop. Even 4Minute, who are lousy copies, have fans that ‘coexist’ if you will with other fandoms.

    But that’s just speaking if fanclubs keep to themselves like little tribes. Most people are a little bit of everything (like myself) so fan-wars are simply stupid to me.

    Also, I agree with what you mentioned about YG pioneering a new wave for the youth of Korea, but slightly agree more with the first part of this article http://seoulbeats.com/2010/09/a-rebuttal-2ne1-aint-all-that/ on the ‘for women’ part.

    Personally, I have asked myself: “why is 2NE1 coming out SO hard?” (not that that’s a bad thing) “Is it really them, or is someone making them be overly fierce?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

